Proceedings of the Board of Education Independent School District #2180 Regular Meeting #7 January 14, 2019 6:00 PM High School Media Center

Members Present: Lane Schwitters, Deb Brandt, Scott Ruiter, Tate Mueller, Carmel Thein, Julie Alsum Others Present: Sherri Broderius, Superintentent; Melissa Sparks, HS Principal; Judd Wheatley, Elementary Principal, Kim Sandry, Business Manager, Jim Trulock, Activities Director, Denise Smith, Community Ed Director, Sam Peterson, Newspaper.

Chairman Lane Schwitters called the meeting to order at 6:00 pm. Pledge of Allegiance

Motion by Ruiter, second by Alsum to approve the agenda with the addition of item 5.4 Para Resignation – S. Barrera. Motion passed by unanimous vote.

Annual Reorganization:

Election of Officers:

Board Chair:

Nominations: Lane Schwitters by Thein, Deb Brandt by Mueller. Brandt declines. Schwitters declared Board Chair.

Vice Chair:

Nomination: Deb Brandt by Alsum.. Brandt declared Vice-Chair.

<u>Clerk</u>:

Nominations: Julie Alsum by Thein. Alsum declared clerk.

Treasurer:

Nominations: Scott Ruiter by Alsum. Ruiter declared Treasurer.

Committee Appointments:

Motion by Mueller, second by Ruiter, to appoint the following board members to the committees as listed. Motion carried by unanimous vote.

Community Education: Deb Brandt Continuing Education: Lane Schwitters District Advisory Committee: Tate Mueller Facilities/Health and Safety: Tate Mueller, Julie Alsum, Deb Brandt Finance/Negotiations: Lane Schwitters, Scott Ruiter, Carmel Thein. LCTN Governing Board: Lane Schwitters Legislative Liaison (MSBA/MREA): Deb Brandt Transportation: Julie Alsum, Tate Mueller

Board Compensation Rates:

Motion by Ruiter, second by Brandt, to set the Board compensation rates as listed below. Motion carried by unanimous vote.

Regular Board meeting: \$100

Committee Meeting: \$75 Meetings over 4 hours: \$100 All Day Working Sessions: \$100 MSBA/MREA Workshops: \$75 MSBA/MREA Workshops over 4 hours: \$100 Chair: \$500 Clerk: \$100 Treasurer: \$100 Mileage: Federal Mileage Rate \$.58

Official Designation:

Motion by Brandt, second by Thein, to set the official designations as follows. Motion carried by unanimous vote.

Depositories: Citizen's Alliance Bank, Heritage Bank, MSDLAF

Meeting Dates: Second Monday of every month in the Media Center at the High School Meeting Time: 6:00 pm

Official Newspaper: Clara City Herald

Notification Methods: District Office, MACCRAY website

Legal Counsel: Kennedy and Graven, Chartered

Signature Authorizations:

Motion by Alsum, second by Ruiter, to set the following signature authorizations as follows. Motion carried by unanimous vote.

Electronic Fund Transfers – Kim Sandry, Business Manager

- Cathy Schueler, Accounts Payable/Student Activities
- Nicole Kray Niemeyer Payroll/Purchasing
- Scott Ruiter, Treasurer
- Lane Schwitters, Chair

All Other Accounts and CD's: Kim Sandry, Business Manager

Cathy Schueler, Accounts Payable/Student Activities

- Nicole Kray Niemeyer, Payroll/Purchasing

Safe Keeping Investment Securities:

Motion by Thein, second by Mueller, to authorize the Business Manager to make investments in Federally insured/secured accounts which will yield the greatest interest rates and approve United Banker's Bank as Safe keeper of Citizen's Alliance Bank's pledged collateral as required by MN Statute 118A.03. Motion carried by unanimous vote.

Approval of Consent Agenda:

Motion by Brandt, second by Mueller, to approve the consent agenda as presented. Motion carried by unanimous vote.

Communications Reports:

Denise Smith, Comm. Ed: Fall/Winter highlights/participation, Winter/Spring booklet, Elementary Traveling Teams, Facility Requests.

Jim Trulock, Activities Report: Activities update, Winter sports participation numbers.

Judd Wheatley, Elem Report: Pride Assembly, Last Professional Dev. Day, Upcoming events.

Melissa Sparks, HS Report: WOW awards, Art Awards, Christmas Angels/Social Workers, etc.

Sherri Broderius, Supt: Process of Strategic Planning/Polling, SRTS, Building updates/repairs, Water testing, radon testing.

Discussion Items:

Business Items:

Motion by Thein, second by Ruiter, to approve the Resolution to authorize Sherri Broderius to act as the Identified Official with Authority (IoWA) and Kim Sandry as the IoWA to add and remove names only for the MACCRAY School District 2180-01. Call vote: Schwitters, yes, Alsum, yes, Brandt, yes, Thein, yes, Ruiter, yes, Mueller, yes. Resolution passed.

Motion by Brandt, second by Alsum, to approve the contract for PACT for Families Membership. Motion carried by unanimous vote.

Motion by Ruiter, second by Brandt, to approve the Resolution to do a Fund Transfer of \$181,015 between General Fund and Community Service Fund to eliminate the negative fund balance in the Community Service Fund. Vote: Schwitters, yes, Ruiter, yes, Thein, yes, Alsum, yes, Mueller, yes, Brandt, yes. Resolution passed and adopted.

Motion by Brandt, second by Mueller, to approve the Superintendent Evaluation. Motion carried by unanimous vote.

Motion by Ruiter, second by Alsum, to approve the first reading of Policy 205 – Open Meetings and Closed Meetings. Motion carried by unanimous vote.

Motion by Ruiter, second by Thein, to approve the first reading of Policy 206- Public Participation in School Board Meetings/Complaints About Persons at School Board Meetings and Data Privacy Considerations. Motion carried by unanimous vote.

Motion by Brandt, second by Mueller, to approve the JHGBB coaches as presented. Motion carried by unanimous vote.

Public comment: none.

<u>Meetings and Workshops:</u> Regular Board Meeting, Feb. 11, 6:00pm HS Media Center.

Adjournment of Meeting

Motion by Ruiter, second by Alsum, for adjournment. Motion carried by unanimous vote. Meeting adjourned at 7:01 pm.

Julie Alsum, Clerk Kim Sandry